In Sanskrit "Ashta + anga" is Ashtanga. "Ashta" means Eight and "Anga" is limbs so it means Eight Limb path. Ashtanga yoga is based on Yoga Philosophy of Patanjali. It is a specific yoga tradition, but at the same time Ashtanga Yoga can be seen as covering all aspects of yoga within any yoga tradition.

Ashtanga Yoga is often called Patanjali Yoga, referring to Maharishi Patanjali, the ancient author of the famous Patanjali yoga sutras that describe Ashtanga Yoga. Historians place the writing of these scriptures at around 200 B.C., but the original is probably thousands of years older. These teachings belong to an oral tradition, passed on unchanged by memorization of the verses in which their wisdom was captured. More recently (15th century) the term Raja Yoga is also often used instead of Ashtanga Yoga, meaning "royal yoga".

The 8 limbs of Ashtanga yoga, described as practices



- Yama the five restraints or the "don'ts"
 - Ahimsa Non-violence
 - Satya Truthfulness
 - Brahmacharya Control of the senses and celibacy
 - Asteya Non-stealing
 - Aparigraha Non-covetousness and nonacceptance of gifts

- Yama the five restraints or the "don'ts"
 - Ahimsa Non-violence
 - Satya Truthfulness
 - Brahmacharya Control of the senses and celibacy
 - Asteya Non-stealing
 - Aparigraha Non-covetousness and nonacceptance of gifts
- Niyama the five observances or the "do's"
 - Saucha Purity, cleanliness
 - Santosha Contentment
 - Tapas Austerity
 - Swadhyaya Self-study, study of scriptures
 - Ishwara Pranidhana Surrender to God's will
- Asana Steady posture
- Pranayama Control of prana or life force
- Pratyahara Withdrawal of the senses
- Dharana Concentration
- Dhyana Meditation
- Samadhi Super-conscious state